D-I-Y Tinted Moisturizer

Out of nowhere, I thought..why not make a DIY tinted moisturizer? I figured this was a good way to use up my two Sally Hansen foundations (review here) but have less coverage when I wear it.

Products used:

  1. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel
  2. Korres Anti-Aging Oak and Queretin Primer
  3. Sally Hansen Inspired By Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup in Creamy Beige
  4. Sally Hansen Inspired By Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup in Sandy Beige
  5. MAC Lustre Drops in Sun Rush
  6. MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NC30
Process:   There was no science in the amount of each product I used. I used a clean and empty travel container and put in several pumps of Clinique, a bit of Korres, a pump or two for each Sally Hansen foundation and a “bloop” of the Lustre Drops. I only added the Studio Fix Fluid because my concoction was looking a little too neutral beige and SFF added the yellow I needed to suit my skin tone. I mixed it all with a disposable spatula, purchased from Crown Brush.
Application:   Today was my first day using it so I used a damp disposable sponge to stipple on my tinted moisturizer so it wouldn’t be too obvious if the color or texture was way off. I concentrated on my cheeks, nose and the middle of my forehead. After applying my eye makeup, I lightly dusted MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural on my forehead, nose and chin.
Results:   I love the finish! Very light coverage while still evening out my skin tone, although the coverage is more like a light foundation than a tinted moisturizer. With the setting powder, my face ended up fairly matte but I like a matte finish. The Lustre Drops really made for a radiant / luminizing finish. I don’t doubt that this will last all day but I only say that because I generally don’t have a problem with foundation fading throughout the day. That could be because I can’t tell it faded but I’ll just continue in my ignorant bliss. :) **Update: 9 hours later: The tinted moisturizer is holding up great and I still like how it looks. One thing that is bugging me though, the expression lines around my mouth are accentuated. I tried spraying Jane Iredale’s hydration spray to help alleviate that but it didn’t work. I think I need to add some more moisturizer in my mix, possibly Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre.

One shot in natural cloudy light, one shot with flash. I don't remember which is which though.

Overall, I’m very happy with my little homemade tinted moisturizer. After I use this few days’ worth, I’ll probably play around with the ratios of each product and aim for less coverage.

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to D-I-Y Tinted Moisturizer

  1. Leah says:

    This was way too adorable! I loved it. I wish I was creative as this. I bought Laura Mericer’s Tinted Moisturizer (which was quite a bit pricier than a do-it-at-home alternative) but still love it! Awesome post :)

    • It’s not creative..it’s totally doable! I’m the least creative person I know, lol. I have LM’s Oil-Free TM but it makes me more oily than normal..weird! Anyway..you should try it, I love how it turned out! Maybe this way you can use up the foundation samples that you ended up not really liking! <3 Tinna

  2. Leah says:

    Hey that is soo smart! I think I will try that, thanks!

  3. Pingback: On The Hunt For a Tinted Moisturizer | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

