Review: Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free

This review is a part of a series in which I tested out several tinted moisturizers to find my favorite one. If the comparisons post among the tinted moisturizers isn’t up by the time I post this review, then please check back within a day or two and I’ll have it up.

About the product: Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free has an SPF of 15 with titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. It is a gel-based formula and contains Vitamins C and E. I emailed BB and asked for a list of ingredients but never received it.

Texture and Fragrance: The texture is gel-based but I didn’t find any difference between BB’s tinted moisturizer and any other tinted moisturizer when I feel it in my hands. It’s oil-free as you know so it’s not very moisturizing. When I spread it over my face, there’s a slight pull to the skin. As for fragrance, even after a few days of wearing this, I didn’t realize there was a smell to this until I read reviews on MakeupAlley. Many people claimed there was a horrid gasoline smell. I finally took a whiff of my sample and did have a gasoline-like smell but I am not sensitive to scent so it didn’t bother me. If you are sensitive, you may want to check it out at a store first.

Color and Coverage:  I would generally describe my skin tone as medium or sometimes a light-medium. I was surprised when the SA matched me to “Light”. The undertone works great for my skin (yellow-based). “Light” really warms up the color on my face, almost flirting with the line of being too dark. I find this to be acceptable because it doesn’t oxidize. If anything, I think it adjusts to my skin color (or maybe I just get used to it, haha). The coverage is great, I would say medium for a tinted moisturizer or light for a foundation.

Finish:The finish is very natural but leaning more towards matte. The dry down time after application was fairly quick. By dry down time, I mean until my face isn’t sticky anymore. Because I have combination skin and this is an oil-free product, I found that my cheeks looked a bit dehydrated. The lines on my cheeks were more prominent than it would be if I had moisturizer on it.

Bobbi Brown versus Shiseido

Throughout The Day: This tinted moisturizer held up very well throughout the day. I stayed relatively matte/oil-free (I’m not that oily to begin with) and the color didn’t oxidize at all. I put this on at 4:30ish am and it looked fine throughout the whole day until I got home around 6pm.

How I apply it: When testing out this product, I applied CHANEL sunscreen then the Bobbi Brown tinted moisturizer and didn’t set it with powder. That gave me the results that I described above.  I’ve also tried applying it over Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentre on my cheeks and Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel on my t-zone. When testing it this way, the dry down time was much longer but I still didn’t look oily throughout the day.

Overall thoughts:  As you can read from my comparisons and results post (will be posted soon), Bobbi Brown was the winner out of the four tinted moisturizes I tried. It had everything I was looking for: antioxidants, spf, good coverage and good color match. If you have oily skin or even normal/combination skin, this tinted moisturizer would be great because you can layer an oil-free moisturizer underneath. I do recommend you go to a counter to get color matched because the shades run pretty dark. Also, while you’re there, you should check to see if the smell bothers you. I love this tinted moisturizer!

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, review, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Bobbi Brown Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free

  1. Leah says:

    Your series was awesome. I am a huge fan of Bobbi Brown so I am happy you went with Bobbi. I actually prefer Bobbi for their foundation products (tinted moisturizer included), however I am not a huge fan of their eye makeup and bronzer! FANTASTIC formulas for their foundations though!

    • I’ll have to try out their foundations one day..I’m interested because I hear they have a good yellow base to them. But yeah, I love the tinted moisturizer! Haven’t tried any of their other makeup, except for the gel liner which I’m not a fan of, but their brushes have lasted me many years. Even when I didn’t know about washing them for the first few years, lol!

  2. Pingback: Comparison and Results: Tinted Moisturizer Hunt | BeautySynergy

  3. kimsoozan says:

    Tinna you have great skin to begin with and your eyelashes are getting so long and pretty.

    • My eyelashes are almost twice as long now! I love Latisse, it’s the product that I’ve seen the most tangible results for out of any beauty product I’ve tried to date.

Leave a Reply

