Review: Tarte Smooth Operator Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free

This review is a part of a series in which I tested out several tinted moisturizers to find my favorite one. If the comparisons post among the tinted moisturizers isn’t up by the time I post this review, then please check back within a day or two and I’ll have it up.

About the product: Tarte Smooth Operator Tinted Moisturizer has an SPF of 20 with the help of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide. It has a plethora of “skinvigorating” ingredients that are listed on their website that I linked above. The product excludes mineral oil and parabens, among other “bad” ingredients.

Texture and Fragrance: The texture is light, smooth and easy to spread. It is moisturizing but not overly so.

Color and Coverage: I picked up “Agent 10 – Formerly Conceal”. It’s very yellow-based which matches my skin tone well. At first glance, it seems a little light but once it’s spread out on my face, the color match is good. As for coverage, I find this to have very sheer coverage with one layer. The first day I used it, I put on a small layer. If I use a little more product, more coverage can be achieved without looking cakey, which I did the second day. I like to use minimal product in one pass so I’ll probably attain sheer coverage on most days. Check out this video where you can see that it covers pretty well if you use more product.

Finish:  The finish is very dewy without looking oily. The complete dry down time takes over 3 hours but it doesn’t bother me. Because this has moisturizing properties, my cheeks look less dehydrated than if I was wearing an oil-free product. There is shimmer in this and I can see it on my face if I’m a few inches away from the mirror. However, if I’m a normal distance from the mirror, I generally can’t see the shimmer.

This is the first day when I didn't apply much. I've since found I can get more coverage by simply using more product (duh? lol)

Throughout The Day:  This held up well throughout the day. Although my skin isn’t oily to begin with, this product didn’t make my skin any more oily than it would be without makeup. The coverage was so sheer so I wasn’t able to notice if any had faded but with that being said, I don’t usually have a problem with makeup fading that I can tell. *I’m adding this after I’ve already written this review: today was really warm and by the end of the day, I was a little oily. It makes me think it won’t hold up on hot, humid days but would be great for normal days or for the wintertime.*

How I apply it: Day 1 – CHANEL sunscreen, Embryolisse Lait Creme Concentre on cheeks, Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel, Tarte tinted moisturizer with no powder set. Day 2 and 3 – CHANEL sunscreen, Tarte tinted moisturizer with no powder set.

Overall thoughts: I like this tinted moisturizer although it’s not my favorite. Ulta doesn’t give out samples and my local Sephora didn’t carry this so I ended up buying the full size from Ulta to try it out. I am going to keep it because it’s not bad and I don’t like returning products unless I absolutely hate it. I wouldn’t wear this on a hot day though because I can see it being a little too moisturizing for my skin if it’s hot and humid outside. It’s a good tinted moisturizer for the weekday at work. While I’ll never know if their “skinvigorating”products are working, I do appreciate that they’re included in the product. It has the antioxidants I was wanting plus many more.

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, review, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Tarte Smooth Operator Tinted Moisturizer Oil Free

  1. Pingback: Comparison and Results: Tinted Moisturizer Hunt | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

