Depotting Makeup into the Z Palette

I am running out of space in my traincase so I wanted to consolidate some of my eyeshadows plus take the empty cases to MAC for Back 2 MAC. I put the Z Palette on my Christmas list and yay, I got it as a stocking stuffer (Thanks John and thanks Jes for telling him to get it :D). I depotted (6) of my MAC eyeshadows and (4) Revlon eyeshadows.

You will need a small square piece of wax paper or parchment paper, a flat iron, a small knife and magnetic stickers (I ordered these on Amazon.com). You will need either the   Z Palette or the UNII Palette. I have the Z Palette and I will probably order the UNII soon.

Photo Source: makeupaddict.org

  1. Take a small knife and gently wedge it between the tray and the case. You’ll see a line in the clasp area where the case closes.
  2. Gently wiggle the knife until the tray pops out.

  1. Put the piece of parchment or wax paper on the flat iron and then put the eyeshadow tray onto it. Leave for a few minutes then take off.  *Be careful. The black part isn’t that hot but when you take out the metal pan, the pan will be very hot.
  2. You’ll know if it is ready if you can see that the middle of the underside has been melted. You can then take your knife and push the metal pan outward.
  3. After you have loosened the metal pan, flip it over, take the knife and maneuver the metal pan out. Let it cool off for a few minutes.
  4. Adhere the magnetic dot to the underside of the metal pan.

Voila! I don’t have many eyeshadows to stick in there yet, but it’s a nice start. For the Revlon eyeshadows, I just popped them out of the tray with the knife. As you can see, this is a very easy project.

I am going to estimate that you can fit at least (21) MAC eyeshadows in there. You can depot blushes, lip glosses and eyeshadows and put them all into this palette. The Z Palette is okay, I like that you can see inside. I think I’m going to like the UNII Palette better because based on pictures, it looks sturdier.

Have fun!

♥ Tinna


About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Accessories, Beauty, D-I-Y, makeup, makeup tools, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Depotting Makeup into the Z Palette

  1. Can you believe I don’t have any mac eyeshadow? haha
    this is a great idea tho!
    -Nina

Leave a Reply

