Review: Lancome Primordiale Skin Recharge Night Cream & Lotion

What is going on here, Southern California? This winter has been longer than any other winters I can remember! Usually, I can tolerate the very short time span of when my skin is really dry but this year..it’s too much! Winter is kicking my skin’s bootay. It was getting to the point where my foundation or BB cream didn’t look good because of my dry, flaky skin. Something needed to be done..STAT! For the past week I’ve been using Lancome Genifique Youth Activating Concentrate so I decided to stick with the Lancome line when searching for a moisturizer. They have different collections within Lancome that target different problems and I figured Lancome Primordiale was the best for my skin type and age (fine lines, beginning stages of aging, age 26). I went to Nordstrom the other day and confirmed with the sales associate that Primordiale would be most suitable.

I picked up Primordiale Night Skin Recharge and Skin Recharge Lotion w SPF 15.

On the box – Night Skin Recharge: “As the aging process begins, your skin’s cellular activity slows down, resulting in rough and uneven skin texture and the appearance of fine lines and pores. Now, from Lancome, a nigh cream to visibly smooth and renew skin, restoring its youthful look and vitality. This Unique night cream with Biotin, an energetic co-enzyme, helps ‘recharge’ cells deep within the surface of the skin, revealing revitalized, radiantly healthy-looking skin. Wheat lipids help eliminate the impurities that accumulate on your skin throughout the day, while a unique complex of gentle resurfacers helps accelerate surface skin turnover. Texture is smoothed and refined, while the appearance of pores and fine lines is significantly reduced. Immediately, skin feels comfortable, softer and hydrated. The next morning, skin looks healthier and revitalized. In 3 days, pores are less visible, imperfections look diminished and skin looks younger. In just 5 days, the appearance of fine lines is reduced. Non-comedogenic.”

On the box – Skin Recharge: basically, same as above except for the visible results: “Immediately, skin feels smoother, softer and is more radiant. In 5 days, pores are less visible. In 4 weeks, appearance of fine lines is significantly reduced.”

Packaging: I love pump bottles because it is more hygienic and as you can see, the night cream comes in a tub which I find shortens the lifespan of the product. I will always take extra care to have extremely clean hands before dipping my finger in the cream. So yay for the lotion, nay for the night cream.

Texture/Fragrance: Neither the cream nor the lotion is too thick. I can tell by the consistency that it will definitely hydrate my face, but I could foresee that neither product would feel gunky or mask-like on my face. It is not sticky either, it absorbs into my skin quite well. As for the fragrance, I can see many people hating it but I actually like it. It’s a distinct fragrance that brings me back to when I was a little kid and I would watch my mom or aunt do their skincare routines. So I could say that it smells a little “mature” haha, but I like it! Maybe you will, maybe you won’t.

How I use: In the mornings, I wash my face, apply the Genifique then I apply the Skin Recharge Lotion. If I am going to be out all day snowboarding or something, I apply Clarins UV Plus Day Screen Protection first and then the lotion. (p.s. I LOVE that Clarins sunscreen.) In the evenings, I wash my face with my Clarisonic Mia, use the Mario Badescu Glycolic Acid Toner, apply Genifique then apply the Night Skin Recharge. For both products, I dot it around my face then pat outwards. I pay a little more attention to my dry spots like my nose and my chin.

Results: I applied the night cream the first night I brought it home. The very next morning, there was a significant decrease of dry patches on my skin. There was a little flakiness on my nose, but that disappeared a few days later. My skin feels really soft when I have it on. The lotion was very hydrating but it didn’t make my skin any more oily than it usually gets during the day. As for minimizing pores and fine lines, I honestly can’t tell a difference at the moment. I don’t think I have huge pores except maybe some medium-sized pores on my nose and a little bit next to my nose. Or, maybe I do have huge pores but I just don’t know it! lol. I’ll give it at least another week and let you know if I noticed a difference in my fine lines.

Conclusion: I’m pleased with both products and I generally like them. Neither product is a Holy Grail for me and I will still keep an eye out for moisturizers. I can only apply both of these products during the wintertime because I’m sure that with the lotion especially, my t-zone will become more oily in the warmer months. I recommend both the night cream and the lotion, but not with full enthusiasm. I do not recommend these products if you have oily skin or an oily t-zone. Also, if you’re on a tight budget, I don’t think these are worth your money. For the time being, I cannot recommend based on its smoothing and renewing claims because I am undecided.

Where to buy: Any department store or Sephora that sells Lancome. The Night Skin Recharge is $68.50 and the Skin Recharge Lotion is $68.50

Still searching for my holy grail skin care products…

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, review, skincare, Tinna and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Lancome Primordiale Skin Recharge Night Cream & Lotion

  1. kimsoozan says:

    I totally agree with this years long winter’s dry skin. I especially LOVE Lancome mascaras and they usually give you a fee gift set when purchasing a certain price limit and boy do I Love their Renergie anti-Wrinkle, firming product (I got it as a sample). Now that you mention about the fragrance, It totally reminds me of ah joo mah’s face products.

Leave a Reply

