Help Your Skin From Within

First, I would like to thank my friend and co-blogger Nina for her very inspiring and thought-provoking posts about healthy juicing and the Mushio Kushi theory to pinpoint what is causing acne. Both posts/ideas are relevant to each other because I’m researching how certain fruits and vegetables, when juiced through a juicer, can help my imperfect skin.

DISCLAIMER: Everything I present here is unverified information that I have gleaned from various internet sources. I personally have not seen any scientific research to prove the theories and claims that I’m going to share in this post. I do not claim any of these recipes or ideas to be my own.
My boyfriend and I were eager to order the same juicer that Nina had, the Breville BJE 200 XL. We were excited to receive it yesterday and make our first juice! We made the most basic juice: carrots + apples. 3 carrots and 2 apples filled a plastic water bottle. I’ve never had fresh juice before and my bf kept telling me how great carrot juice was. I thought, “EW”. But the juice that comes from a carrot is actually pretty sweet and when paired with the juice of the apple..delicious!
This inspired me to google juicer recipes and then I stumbled on recipes that were supposed to help acne. I read through a couple of them and I thought about Nina’s Mushio Kushi post. I’m not completely convinced (yet) that certain fruit and vegetable juices will clear your skin, but I’m definitely convinced that it’s worth a try. Just to remind you or if you are a new reader, I have combination/oily skin, whiteheads on my forehead, minor scarring on my temples and cystic acne is relatively rare for me. I’m mainly interested in clearing up my forehead.

Beneficial Vitamins/Minerals/Nutrients

  1. Vitamin A (Beta-Carotene) – reduces sebum production, stimulates cell growth
  2. B Vitamins – a deficiency of B vitamins causes acne
  3. Vitamin E – an antioxidant, protects the body
  4. Zinc – prevents inflammation, helps skin heal, reduces scarring
  5. Selenium – combined with vitamin E for antioxidant and detoxifying properties

Best Foods to Eat or Juice

  1. Carrots – very rich in beta-carotene
  2. Watermelon – natural diuretic, flush out toxins
  3. Beetroot – rich in folic acid, beta-carotene, potassium, chlorine, good for detoxing
  4. Honey melon – rich in Vitamin C and B vitamins
  5. Parsley – rich in vitamins C and A

Juicer Recipes

  1. Carrot + Apple
  2. Watermelon + Beetroot
  3. Carrot + Apple + Broccoli Heads
  4. Parsley + Apples + Fresh Ginger + Carrots

Why is juicing fruits and vegetables better than cooking them or eating them whole?

  1. Juicing a fruit or vegetable extracts the vitamins, minerals, etc. but discards the fiber. Because you are not taking in fiber, the juice is absorbed more quickly by your body.

Other Tips For Juicing

  1. Wash the fruits and vegetables thoroughly.
  2. Start with the softest fruit/veggie and work your way up to the hardest.
  3. Remove the tops of the carrots. Remove the stem and seeds from apples.
  4. Always wash out your juicer parts RIGHT AWAY. I’m told you will deeply regret the day you let the fruit or vegetables dry inside your juicer.
  5. It is best to drink the juice right away and minimize exposure to the air.
  6. When you want to start juicing green vegetables, start with a small amount and gradually build up your intake so your body can get accustomed. Your body cannot handle too much at first.

I’m going to drink one of the juice recipes that I listed above at least once a day for several weeks. I want to see if these juices in fact help improve my skin. I’ll be sure to post up the results. If my skin happens to improved within the next few weeks, I am sure it will be due to the juices because no topical product has made an difference in my skin thus far.

I’d love to know if anyone out there has had luck with clearing their skin by changing their diet or drinking fresh juice! Happy Juicing!

 

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Health, skincare, Tinna and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Help Your Skin From Within

  1. I love how this post is so informative!! My juicing post and this post are the perfect combo! By the way, I like the juice combinations that you mentioned about. I want to try those.
    Let’s keep uP with a healthy lifestyle!
    -Nina

  2. Pingback: Juice Of The Day | BeautySynergy

  3. Pingback: Recent Skin Improvements | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

