Digital Perm (Digi-Perm)

I was inspired by Nina’s awesome post about her loose wave perm! It looks great! I wanted to share my experience with the Digital Perm aka digiperm that I had done almost a year ago because I know when I was thinking about it, I was googling it like crazy trying to find people who had gotten it.

About 2-3 months after perm. My favorite hair

What is a digital perm? It’s a perm that is popular among Koreans, Japanese and Chinese because it creates loose curls or waves, depending on the rod sizes you use. It’s also known as a “hot perm” because the rods are heated to create the curls, whereas a traditional perm, “cold perm”, does not use heated rods. It gets its name “digital” because there is a digital display on the machine that connects to the rods.
What I love about the digital perm! It is a very low maintenance hair style. Every morning, I shower, put some curl-enhancing product in it, twist around my fingers and I’m set to go. If I have time, I’ll dry it a little with a diffuser. Also, it lasted a really long time. I had mine done about 10 months ago and I still have a little bit of curl at the ends of my hair (I’m overdue for another perm).
The process, as I remember it. This was a 4 hour appointment so make sure you’re well fed and you bring some entertainment with you! First my stylist trimmed my hair in a way that was supposed to be most flattering for the digiperm. He then sprayed some solution all over my hair and let it sit. After some time passed, he began rolling my hair in the biggest-sized rods (see picture below). Normally, he will only roll halfway up your hair but I asked him to go all the way to my scalp so I can get as much volume as possible. This made it uncomfortably hot on my scalp! He had to put in little pads to separate my scalp from my rolled hair (ouch). And he was nice enough to fan me ^.^. After he unrolled the rods, my hair was in tight little curls (see picture below) and I was a little frightened, haha. But he eventually worked them out and they became long curls.
Where I got it done and the cost: I had it done at a Japanese salon in Los Angeles called Hair Epoch and my stylist was Aki. The cut and perm was $190 and I tipped him $60 (cash only). Trust me, he deserved the tip because it took a lot of work to roll and unroll my hair. I highly recommend a Korean or Japanese salon for digiperms.
Products that I use on my hair: Fekkai Brilliant Glossing ShampooFekkai Reparative ConditionerOjon Restorative Hair TreatmentOjon Revitalizing Mist. I love all four products and use them to this day. Lately, I’ve been rubbing Josie Maran’s 100% Organic Argan Oil on the ends (read my review here)
Some tips for caring for your digiperm:
  • Don’t wash your hair for 3 days after the perm.
  • Never comb or brush your hair. Only comb it gently in the shower to detangle
  • Only blow dry your hair with a diffuser
  • Look for shampoo and conditioner that are specifically for chemically-treated hair
  • I don’t want to say DON’T straighten your hair because I don’t know what kind of damage will be done if any, but I definitely wouldn’t
  • For best curl, I liked to shower at night, twist my hair into 4 small buns, sleep on it and then apply mousse the next day
  • The digiperm should last you about 6 months
  • My hair didn’t dry out all that much because of the digiperm, but make sure you deep condition it anyway with a product that is kind to chemically-treated hair
Left: The crazy-looking machine | Right: How tight the curls were right after
Pictures of same night and a few days after
I had a ton of questions about the digital perm but in the end, I LOVE it and I will definitely do it again. I just haven’t made it a priority to go to Aki’s salon. But I will soon! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask!

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Hair Styles, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Digital Perm (Digi-Perm)

  1. I remember I saw that alien looking machine with long cords hanging from it and I asked my hairstylist what it was… I didn’t know it was called digi perm. kkkk But she told me it would burn my hair, because my it’s is very thin…
    But your hair came out really cute!
    ^^
    -Nina

  2. Pingback: Recurring Favorite Products | BeautySynergy

  3. I’m sorry but I don’t understand your question.
    You want a different hairstyle and you would like suggestions?❤ Tinna

  4. rochelle says:

    i take full credit for you getting this perm, tinna. lol i still need to get one!!

  5. Claire says:

    hi… my hair is naturally curly and super super thick. My mom straightened it when i was younger making my curls a mess now. i want to fix my curls but idk how without cutting it all off and letting it regrow… I was wondering if getting a digiperm will help me? my curls are out of control now. Some are super curly some aren’t and some pieces of hair are just straight. I try to get them all to curl by putting products in my hair and curling it with my finger but it only looks nice until my hair drys and then the top of my head gets super puffy. will the digiperm make the top of my hair less puffy and straight leaving the bottom curly??

    • I’m sorry Claire, I don’t know the answer to that because my hair was straight before the perm. My ignorant self would think that the digital perm won’t produce the specific results you’re looking for. I think this because they usually only roll the curls halfway up your hair so it wouldn’t do anything to the top of your hair which is what you’re looking to work on. But again, I do not know for sure.
      This sounds like crazy work to your hair, but maybe you can ask a stylist and see if it’s okay to do like some kind of straightening perm and then doing the digital perm. I don’t know if that’s too much damage to your hair or not, it sounds like it is.

      Sorry I’m not much help!!! I’ll try looking around other blogs for you and let you know if I find someone with a similar situation as yours.🙂❤ Tinna

  6. Misty says:

    Your hair looks awsome!!! I scheduled my appointment 4 days before my friend’s party at a waterpark which mean I’m going to be swimming alot. Will that do anything to my digital perm? Also, I’m going to be joining my school’s swim team this year, will the chlorine affect my digital perm? I hope you get this comment since it’s been months since you posted this XDDD.

Leave a Reply

