Early Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

I recently purchased my first Chanel foundation, the Vitalumiere Aqua (see haul post here). Today is my 4th day of wearing it and I wanted to post up an early review.

CHANEL’s claims: The tiniest drop of this new hybrid fluid creates a fresh, natural complexion. Skin looks refined and feels refreshed, creating an exquisite makeup experience. The fluid formula has a soft, water-light texture, and comes in 10 shades that match perfectly to skin’s undertones, whether pink or beige. Dermatologist-tested. Non-comedogenic. Oil- free. (From Bloomingdales’ website)
My experience: When the sales associate applied this foundation on me, he used a foundation brush and applied it rather heavily. This was because I explained that I like enough coverage to give me that flawless look. He insisted that I don’t need that much coverage but applied it anyway. I loved the finish but noticed that it was looking a bit cake-y around my chin. (I bought it anyway obviously)
A few days later, I applied it with my fingers. I concentrated most of the foundation towards the middle of my face and spread it outwards. The finish is beautiful, very soft and natural. The finish is not completely matte but it’s more matte than dewy. It evens out my face without looking like I have foundation on. It’s extremely light and the shade (B30 Beige Sable) matched very well. Only the tiniest amount was needed to provide the finish that I desired.
*Note: Today I noticed that some of the foundation had broken up on the middle of my forehead between my eyebrows. I believe this is because I put moisturized too much in my forehead, which is an area that isn’t really dry in the first place. I applied the foundation at 3:45 am and noticed this at around 11:00 am. I’ll see how it goes tomorrow when I don’t apply Embryolisse on my forehead.
I would say that Vitalumiere Aqua lives up to CHANEL’s claims, except for it being non-comedogenic (I don’t know if it is or not but I haven’t sprouted any new bumps YET).
Conclusion: I love this foundation! It’s great for everyday wear and also for special occasions if you don’t need full coverage.The finish is amazing like I have mentioned above.
I recommend this for those who have oily skin although I warn you that my forehead was a little oily by the afternoon. I say this because the foundation is oil-free but if you have oily skin, you still may find that this ends up making you too oily. If you have normal/combination skin, this foundation will work well for you. I do NOT recommend this for those who prefer a full coverage foundation, as this will not provide that kind of coverage.
How I apply: Prep- serum, sunscreen, Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre (for moisturizing and priming purposes). Application- I shake very, very, VERY well. A normal shake is not enough for this foundation. I pour a little (less than pea-sized) amount onto my fingers, rub together with other hand then smooth on my face. I concentrate on the middle of my forehead, my nose and the area of cheeks next to my nose. I spread whatever is leftover to the outer regions of my face, as I don’t need a lot of foundation there. I also take a dot-sized amount and pat/smooth underneath my eyes, which really help to lighten my circles up although not as much as a concealer would. Finish- I powder my forehead, my nose, the area of cheeks next to my nose and under my eyes with Mineralized Skin Finish Natural in Medium Plus. **Update: I applied it without the Embryolisse and the foundation did not break up on my forehead as I suspected.
Tips: Like I said, shake REALLY well! Because this foundation is oil-free, it will settle into your fine lines if you have dry skin. Powder only the areas that you know get oily throughout the day. Applying with your fingers seems to give the best and most natural finish.
Where to buy: The CHANEL counter at Bloomingdales, Macy’s or other department stores that carry the line. It will cost $45 USD.
Do you use Chanel foundations? If so, which one and do you recommend it?

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early Review: Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua

  1. Pingback: Is Wearing Foundation Everyday Bad? | BeautySynergy

  2. Pingback: Current Beauty Product Loves | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

