Filling My Eyebrows

I fill my eyebrows every day if I have to leave the house. If I can only have one makeup item, it would be something to fill in my eyebrows, no joke. I have really sparse, thin and light-colored eyebrows that just need the extra color from a pencil or powder.
Nicely shaped and filled eyebrows are very important! Please understand that I’m not writing this post because I think I have great eyebrows. Because I don’t, as explained above.🙂
Image Source: Body Beautiful blog
Above is the ideal shape for eyebrows. You can take a pencil or stick and align to points A, B, C from the edge of your nostril. The height of the arch and the thickness of your brows are up to you. With that being said, the trend right now is for thicker eyebrows. Supposedly the thinner the eyebrows, the older one looks. 
There are different methods to grooming your brows. 1] Tweezing.   2] Waxing.   3] Threading (read about my experience here. Also, blogger Brianaisance posted up this video showing the actual process.)   4] Tattoo/Permanent makeup (read about Nina’s experience here.)

My weapons of choice (in no particular order):

  • Bobbi Brown Eyebrow Brush – I’ve had this brush for years and I love it. It’s stiff and it’s lasted me through the years I didn’t know about washing my makeup brushes (ew lol)
  • Bobbi Brown Eyeshadow in Mahogany – I used this for at least 4 years (I’m still on my first one actually) until I realized I could use MAC’s Copperplate. I still like to use this color when I want my eyebrows darker, usually for nighttime.
  • MAC Eyeshadow in Copperplate – One day, I thought..”Let me try this on my eyebrows”. It turned out great. It’s not dark enough to be too dramatic but fills in my brows nicely for the day time. My hair is dark brown (not typical Asian black) so this lighter color suits me better.
  • Sumita Eyebrow Pencil – I bought this from Ziba Beauty Center, where I have my eyebrows threaded. I bought it in the light brown color so that it gives me some tolerance in case I apply it with a heavy hand. Also, it goes better with my dark brown hair.
  • Anastasia Brow Gel – I like this because the gel doesn’t harden and make my brows crunchy. It tames my brows a little bit but I’m not completely satisfied with its eyebrow holding power.

My routine:

  1. After moisturizing my face or putting on foundation, I take a fluffy eyeshadow brush and dust a powder (I use MAC MSFN) over my brows. Applying powder first will help the color stick on longer
  2. Pencil method – I outline the top and bottom of my lids, starting at the arch working out then back towards the inner corner. Then I apply the pencil with short strokes to fill between the outline I just drew.
  3. Eyeshadow/Brush method – I start filling in my brows starting at the arch to the outer corners using short strokes. I then go back to the arch and move my way towards the inner corner while using strokes in the direction of the outer corners.
  4. I then use Anastasia’s Brow Gel to try and train my eyebrows to grow upward. Right now, they grow downward when they should be growing in the opposite direction.
  5. **If you feel as though you filled in your eyebrows too “darkly”, take an eyebrow comb or brush and use short strokes to comb through your brows. This should lighten up the color a bit.
I would consider getting permanent makeup like Nina had done but I just haven’t gotten around to it or been serious about it. Possibly in the future but as of now, I’m happy with having my eyebrows threaded.

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, makeup tools, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Filling My Eyebrows

  1. bribee27 says:

    Great post, thanks for the shout out!

  2. Pingback: My Deserted Island (aka camping) Makeup Item | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

