Review: Creme de la Mer

Creme de la Mer. My most expensive skincare product to date. For technical information about CDLM and its “miracle broth”, please visit their website here.

How I use it:   I put a small amount of CDLM into a travel-sized jar so I can preserve as much as possible in the original 1 oz. jar. I take a small amount, rub it between my fingers or on my wrist (feel your wrist, it’s very warm!). I gently pat it to the following areas: –under my eyes  –middle of my forehead where there are wrinkles forming  –next to my mouth where I have expression lines  –top of my nose. When I’m feeling extra generous (very rarely), I’ll pat it all over my face and neck. I only apply CDLM at night before I go to bed.
Texture, fragrance:   The texture is very thick so it is extremely important to warm it up to “activate” the ingredients and allow for proper absorption. I’ve read a lot of people complaining about how thick it is and how hard it is to apply but I am sure that they did not properly warm up the creme. Heck, I’m still not sure if I’m warming it correctly. I intend to visit the La Mer counter the next time I go to Nordy’s to make sure I’m doing it correctly. As for fragrance, I like it. I don’t even know how to explain it, I’m sorry. It’s just..pleasant.

Results:   I am having a really hard time deciding whether or not I love CDLM.
  • I love it because it just feels so luxurious and rich, and it makes my skin really soft the next morning. I feel like I’m really pampering my skin. I pretty much fell into the hype of CDLM without seeing actual results. 
  • I am iffy about it because I don’t see a difference in my fine lines and wrinkles but to be honest, I don’t have that many yet (I just turned 27). Also, I may be trying to judge the results too quickly. I feel as though I should use it continuously for several months before deciding if I see results or not. 
You can see above that I have more reasons to be iffy about CDLM than to love it. I may be one of the fools who fell victim to great marketing but I still have hope for CDLM!
I will most likely repurchase CDLM when I run out. You may think I’m crazy but I have had no adverse reactions to CDLM and I’m hoping time will show that CDLM is working.🙂
Back to the wrist thing, I’ve recently discovered that the creme heats up best on my wrist. I put some product on my wrist then use my fingers to vigorously rub the creme. It “liquifies” more properly and my skin absorbs it better.
I apologize if you didn’t find this “review” helpful. It’s one of those love or hate products and I’m pretty much in the middle. Hopefully, in a few months I’ll have a more definite opinion and can expand this review.
♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, review, skincare, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review: Creme de la Mer

  1. Hey Tinna,
    So this CDLM is good for all kinds of wrinkles huh?
    I need an eye cream asap, but I’m wondering which eye cream is the best in the market right now…
    -Nina

  2. Leah says:

    Hey! I think the beauty blog site Sugar Social did a review on this product too. You should check it out – http://www.sugarsocial.wordpress.com.

    I think NOW I have to try this product out after reading both your reveiws!

    • Hi Leah! I say, at least try a sample. It’s like anything, some people love it, some people hate it..I would even say it’s pretty split down the middle. Do you have a La Mer counter near you?

      I really have to stress that I’m not able to fully recommend this product..I would feel terrible if you spent $135 (?) and didn’t like it! But then again, you might love it. Ahh, such a gamble, lol.😀❤ Tinna

      • Leah says:

        I think I will go with a sample first, you are right. I did look up this product and I saw that it was quite pricey. However, I am not even sure if there is a La Mer counter in Canada. Perhaps at one of our upscale deparment stores such as Holt Renfrew (equivalent to your Bloomingdales… wait, I just made a very terrible assumption that you were from America, I apologize if you are not!) Keep me posted on whether you think it is worth the splurge!

      • There’s a store locator on the La Mer website. I just checked for you and there are locations in Canada.🙂 Where in Canada are you? I’ve been to Vancouver and loved it. If there isn’t one near you, email me..I’ll help you out😀. (liteenie at gmail dot com)

        If you don’t mind dropping money on expensive products, then I would say it’s worth the splurge. If you are more conscious of how you spend your money, then I would say it’s not worth it.

        Yes, I’m from America..in fact..from the best state ever – California!! lol❤ Tinna

Leave a Reply

