Extra Sun Protection!!

Image is not my own.

I don’t want to look like that!! lol!
I am the most paranoid person I personally know when it comes to being in the sun. I wear sunscreen every day, rain or shine. If I’m in the sun for an extended period of time, I reapply sunscreen frequently. I also try to wear long clothes and a hat. I don’t want to tan, if I do tan then I don’t want weird tan lines and I want to minimize sun damage.

I’ve posted several times about sun protection and my Holy Grail sunscreen – Clarins UV Plus Day Screen High  Protection SPF 40. Lately, I’ve been noticing brown spots on my face and I don’t know when they appeared or if they’re getting darker. It made me wonder if my Clarins wasn’t effective.
I  came across the brand La Roche-Posay and their “Anthelios” line, which includes products that are regarded as some of the top sunscreens.

Image source: laroche-posay.us

Image source: laroche-posay.us

Top: Anthelios 40 Suncreen $33.90
Bottom: Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer $31.50
I chose the two above because they both contained Mexoryl SX, which is supposed to protect against short UVA rays. (click here for information about UV rays) From what I’ve read on the internet, Mexoryl has been widely used in Europe but only recently approved by the FDA for sale in the US.
**What I write below is based on my own theories or what I have picked up from professionals. This is not based on fact or research. I do not claim that my statements are true.**
I picked up the idea of using mineral makeup for added sun protection from a dermatologist’s interview on Temptalia’s blog. Even though I’m not a fan of mineral makeup, I thought maybe it would be better to dust on some mineral powder for its natural sunscreen (titanium dioxide) instead of trying to reapply daily sunscreen when I’m at work or if I’m going to be inside most of the day. (For when I’m hiking or snowboarding, I would definitely reapply sunblock and not rely on mineral makeup.)
I remembered I stumbled across this review about Jane Iredale Purepressed Base SPF 20. At the time, I thought the writer made it sound too good to be true so I dismissed it from my mind, remembering how much I hated mineral makeup. Now that I was searching for mineral makeup to use as sunscreen, I decided to go back to it. It has really good reviews on makeupalley and even though I saw it was a bit pricey, I decided to go for it. I went to a local retailer and was color matched to “Golden Glow”. I’ll post a review when I’ve had the chance to test it out. I already really like the packaging.
My plan is to apply the Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer in the morning on work days or days I won’t be in the sun that much. I’ll keep the Jane Iredale Purepressed Base in my purse to lightly dust on the mineral powder throughout the day or before I drive home.I’ll use the Anthelios 40 Sunscreen for days I will be outside for long periods of time such as hiking or snowboarding and continue reapplying that product every 2 hours. For my body I use Neutrogena Dry Touch Sunscreen, my favorite.
Hopefully this keeps me well protected! I won’t really know unless I get checked by my dermatologist.
♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, skincare, Tinna, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Extra Sun Protection!!

  1. Olivia says:

    Great post, sun protection is so important! Let me know what you think of the Jane Iredale PurePressed Base🙂 I’m not affliated with them at all so it was my honest review!

    • I came to believe it was your honest review because other reviews reflected the same love for this l powder! Lol.thanks for your post which was my introduction to the line🙂❤ tinna

  2. Leah says:

    I love La Rochay… I did a post about their cream! I use it on my face every single day. Most amazing skin care line I have found. I LOVE it!

  3. Sun screen does wonders to protect your skin, Reese Witherspoon wear sun screen everyday and her skin is immaculate. Brilliant review

  4. i’ve used LRP and i very much prefer OHUI or HERA sunscreens! LRP was a little greasy to apply, even the one for oily skin!

    anyway back to extra sun protection, another fantastic idea are sun powders which are very popular in Asia right now. They are all already SPF 50 and they act as sun protection, as well as a compact !

    • I also purchased another LRP Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream, worst sunscreen EVER. So hard to blend and leaves the whitest cast I’ve ever seen.
      I never really considered a Korean brand sunscreen but I think I will. Which sunscreen and which sun powder do you recommend?
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

