Review: La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer (+ Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream)

About the product:   La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer is an award-winning moisturizer that has SPF 15. La Roche-Posay claims that it is light, oil-free, non-acnegenic and non-comedogenic.

Image source: laroche-posay.us

Key Ingredients:    Meroxyl SX (ecamsule), avobenzone, octocrylene.
Ecamsule: UVA2 protection, avobenzone: UVA1 protection, octocrylene: UVB protection {{source: Skin Cancer Foundation}}
How I apply it:   I wash my face, apply Lancome Genifique then I apply LRP all over my face and neck.
Conclusion:   I’m really disappointed with Anthelios SX. It doesn’t absorb well, it made my forehead oily throughout the day and I’m pretty sure it caused my forehead to break out. I did appreciate that MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural looked fine after applying it over Anthelios SX. However, I can’t use a product that (I think) breaks me out.
Today, I tried just applying this product on my neck and decollete to test how long it takes to become “un-sticky”. It was at least 2-3 hours before I could feel the tacky-ness subside.
I’m bummed that this didn’t work for me. It had really good reviews on makeupalley.com. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend against this sunscreen, but I would urge caution if you are sensitive to chemical sunscreens or if you have oily skin. Anthelios SX seems to be a superior sunscreen because of its ingredients but unfortunately, I am going to look into returning it. If I can’t return it, I’ll just use it on my neck and chest even though the stickiness is annoying.
**UPDATE** I also purchased LRP Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream, which has the same ingredients but with a higher SPF. It is hands down, the worst sunscreen I’ve ever used. I applied it yesterday morning over a freshly washed face before hiking. It was really hard to blend, very dry and it left me the whitest cast ever. It was embarrassing but I just kept trying to spread out the sunscreen which caused me to pull at my skin. Then mid-day when I went to reapply this, it was IMPOSSIBLE to blend. My friend and boyfriend were cracking me because there was this white film on my face plus as I kept rubbing the product in, the cream would start forming flakes. EW! My boyfriend had to take baby wipes and wipe off the sunscreen as best he could which means I had to hike down with no sun protection.
Where to buy:   I purchased this from the La Roche-Posay website for $31.50 but you can also find this at CVS.
I’m still on a hunt for a sunscreen. Clarins UV Plus used to be my ultimate HG but I realized that it doesn’t have the full range of protection that I want. It only has titanium dioxide as its active sun protection ingredient. My ideal sunscreen would have the following qualities: matte finish, very thin and light, no white residue, contains physical blockers, protects against UVA1, UVA2 and UVB rays (for more information, click on the Skin Cancer Foundation link above). My next purchase is going to be CHANEL UV Essentiel Multi-Protection Daily UV Care SpF 50. It seems to have everything I want but I’ll let you know how it goes!

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, review, skincare, Tinna and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer (+ Anthelios 40 Sunscreen Cream)

  1. Leah says:

    Ah, I love their moisturizer so it is so disappointing that their sunscreen didn’t work out. Their face moisturizer is amazing (however, I also have very dry skin which is why it probably works so well for me)!

  2. Pingback: Haul and First Impressions: CHANEL UV Essentiel Multi-Protection Daily UV Care SPF 50 | BeautySynergy

Leave a Reply

