Review: Sally Hansen Inspired by Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup

I’ll say upfront that I am neutral about Sally Hansen Inspired by Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup (phew, that was a long name). I don’t hate it but I don’t love it. I’ll continue to use it once in a while but it’s definitely not one I would consider to be first choice. I’ll definitely try to use up this foundation in my DIY tinted moisturizer (see post here).

Image source: cvs.com

Sally Hansen‘s Product Description:     “This weightless foundation covers imperfections and blotchiness, yet looks and feels utterly natural. Skin looks impeccable all day. Available in 12 natural-looking shades so you can bring out the best in your skin tone. With an optimal, balanced blend of emollients and oil absorbers, Your Skin Makeup is ideal for every skin type.”
Texture, Coverage, Color:   This foundation is very creamy and I found it easy to blend. I deem this foundation a medium to full coverage foundation, depending on how much you layer on. While the finish isn’t necessarily dewy, it doesn’t feel like it completely dries. There’s a slight tackiness that I could feel on my face throughout the day. I try to only apply powder on my forehead, nose and cheeks so I can leave a little dewyness on my skin but it just felt sticky.
I usually wear NC30 in MAC Studio Fix Fluid, #127 in MUFE HD and B30 in Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua and I find myself between Creamy Beige and Sandy Beige. Sandy Beige has a better undertone that matches my skin but is a little too dark so I mix the two colors together.

One photo was taken in natural cloudy light and the other using flash. I can't remember which is which, sorry.

One photo was taken in natural cloudy light and the other using flash. I can't remember which is which, sorry.

How I apply it:  I’ve tried both stippling it on with a duo fibre brush and applying it with my fingers. Both application methods made for a heavy-looking finish, which I didn’t think looked very good. A damp beautyblender would be best to achieve to light yet flawless finish that I desire.
Pros:   The only “pro” that sets this foundation above the other ones I own is the natural ingredients for skin health. The website claims that it contains cork oak, olive leaf, papaya extracts and antioxidant Vitamin A. I can’t tell you what, if anything, these ingredients do for skin but hey, it sounds nice.
Cons:   I go to the gym after work and I don’t bother to remove my makeup before working out. This is the only foundation I’ve tried that transfers when I pat my face dry with a towel. I didn’t wear a primer that day, but even when I don’t, I usually don’t have a problem with foundation coming off my face during a workout. I will give this foundation credit though – after working out and my face was completely dry, it still looked okay and not blotchy.
Conclusion:   In short, Your Skin Makeup is just okay to me. I wouldn’t recommend this for those with oily skin. I also wouldn’t recommend this for those who don’t like a wet-feeling finish. However, if you are looking for a new drugstore foundation to try, I would definitely say it’s worth a shot, especially if you can find it on sale. This foundation is rated 4 out of 5 on makeupalley so it is generally well-liked by most reviewers.
Where to buy:   I purchased mine online from CVS while it was on sale for $9.xx. Original price is $13 I believe. I’ve read online that you can find this randomly for dirt cheap (think $3). I can’t confirm where but some people have posted that this is true.

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, makeup, review, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Sally Hansen Inspired by Carmindy Natural Beauty Your Skin Makeup

  1. Pingback: D-I-Y Tinted Moisturizer | BeautySynergy

  2. Pingback: Makeup Alley Beauty Reviews - WORLD COSMETİCS – WORLD COSMETİCS

Leave a Reply

