Haul and First Impressions: CHANEL UV Essentiel Multi-Protection Daily UV Care SPF 50

I’m extremely diligent about daily sun protection, rain or shine. I’m concerned about getting darker, getting wrinkles and getting sun damage.
I considered Clarins UV Plus Day Screen High Protection SPF 40 my holy grail daily sunscreen for at least a year. It’s really lightweight, applies so smoothly and its active ingredient was a physical sunblock instead of a chemical sunblock.
Recently, I discovered this great website by The Skin Cancer Foundation that explains the different UV rays and which ingredients effectively block which UV ray. After seeing this, I realized Clarins wasn’t giving me the full protection I wanted, which was against UVA1, UVB and UVA2. Clarins’ active ingredient was Titanium Dioxide, which protects against UVB and UVA2 (per the website linked about), but it doesn’t protect against UVA1 which causes wrinkles.
I tried La Roche-Posay Anthelios SX Daily Moisturizer but it didn’t work out for me as it was too rich and caused my forehead to break out (read my review here).
I knew what I wanted in my sunscreen: matte finish, lightweight, no white cast, broad-spectrum protection, doesn’t break me out, physical blockers. With so many sunscreens out there, where was I going to find this product???
I luckily stumbled across CHANEL UV Essentiel Multi-Protection Daily UV Care SPF50. I’ve only used it one day so far but so far I love the consistency and its protection. One thing that I still need to see is if this product breaks me out. I plan to wear this on a daily basis unless I’m participating in an outdoor activity such as hiking or snowboarding. Then I use either Neutrogena Dry Touch or La Roche-Posay (a different one) sunscreen.
Texture, Fragrance, Packaging:    The texture is soo light and watery, it’s awesome. You have to shake well before pouring any of the sunscreen out or else it won’t be mixed properly like in my picture below. It applies very smoothly and I don’t detect much of a white cast. The fragrance is so lovely. I’m not sensitive to fragrances or smells so it may bother one who is sensitive. The packaging is so cute (aka TINY). It’s shaped like the Vitalumiere Aqua foundation and I find the white bottle to be very elegant and beautiful.
This video shows how light the sunscreen is (my first video! lol):

How I apply it:   I shake it well, pour it onto my fingers, rub together then apply it on my face. I apply this right after washing my face and applying serum. Today I didn’t apply moisturizer before putting on my foundation but I think I’m going to need to apply moisturizer because the alcohol in the sunscreen makes my skin a little dry. **I apply sunscreen under all other products except for my serum. Some people may recommend otherwise but I picked up this tip from Dr. Neil Schultz on YouTube and I think I’m getting the most protection this way.**
Ingredients:    The active ingredients are Octinoxate (UVB), Titanium Dioxide (UVB, UVA2) and Zinc Oxide (UVB, UVA1, UVA2). The Nordstrom sticker covers up the other ingredients but do note there’s alcohol and silicones in this product.
First Impression:   Overall, I really like this sunscreen. It’s expensive but it has all the qualities that I was looking for in a sunscreen. I recommend this if you have oily skin, are not sensitive to fragrance and prefer physical blockers. Because this is a little drying, I do not recommend this if you have dry skin. I will update this post if I find that the sunscreen is breaking me out.
Where to buy:   You can purchase this for $52 (1 oz only, eek) at any department store that sells CHANEL.

So small!!!

♥ Tinna

About ninatinnablog

in love with beauty, fashion, art and life.
This entry was posted in Beauty, skincare, Tinna and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Haul and First Impressions: CHANEL UV Essentiel Multi-Protection Daily UV Care SPF 50

  1. i’m gonna have to give this a try next time i save up some money. nice post😉

Leave a Reply

